Veteran Students
Apply Today Request Information Plan a Visit Giving to NCWC

Four Bishops Named to the NABC Honors Court

Rocky Mount, N.C. – The National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) has announced the NABC Honors Court, recognizing those collegiate basketball student-athletes who excelled in academics during the 2011-12 season.  Four of the Battling Bishops from North Carolina Wesleyan  garnered recognition:  Matt Dougherty,  John Kostet,  Alex Murray and Cornelius Snow.  Dougherty, Kostet and Murray are recent graduates of the college, while Snow is a rising senior.

The NABC Honors Court recognizes the off-court talents and gifts of these men and the hard work they exhibit in the classroom. To be named to the Honors Court, an athlete must meet a high standard of academic criteria. The qualifications are:

  • Academically a junior or senior and a varsity player. 
  • Cumulative G.P.A. of 3.2 or higher at the conclusion of the 2011-12 academic year. 
  • Must have matriculated at least one year at their current institution.
  • Member of an NCAA Division I, II, III, or NAIA Institution.

All four young men are members of the USA South Academic All-Conference Team.  Additionally, Dougherty was honored recently with the prestigious NCWC Algernon-Sydney Sullivan award.

For more information visit the Athletics site from the home page.